Features and innovations

Warehouse Performance: Uncovering and exploiting hidden potential through the consistent use of data! (Part 1/4)

"Warehouse Performance? Let's just start like this: every warehouse - large or small, manual or automated - performs "some" way. Now, the point here is not to evaluate the performance of your warehouse - rather, we would like to show you the possibilities to improve it. So the overarching question is: "In what ways do I manage to change the picking process so that it measurably improves?" From our point of view as a WMS provider, we can of course only talk here about those possibilities where warehouse management software can support in order to increase efficiency in the warehouse in the best possible way!

Especially in large storage facilities with several levels, aisles, storage spaces and lots of articles, companies repeatedly waste far too much potential. To put it bluntly: If you reserve order after order arbitrarily or run solely in the order of order entry or priority, you lose efficiency. So the motto is: don't run faster, but store, plan and pick more efficiently for the best possible performance in the warehouse! But what needs to be improved or, in other words, what is the best way to start? From our point of view, there are basically 3 possible phases for optimisation under the keyword "warehouse performance":

  1. Optimisation of stock reservation
  2. Optimisation of batch planning
  3. Application of the "Warehouse Healing" strategy

The result: shorter delivery times, increased customer satisfaction and, above all, increased efficiency in the warehouse.

Would you like to learn more about the individual phases for optimising your performance in the warehouse? Then also read "Warehouse Performance: breaking new ground in the warehouse with optimised stock reservation! (Part 2/4)"

Would you like to find out more about it now? Feel free to contact us!

Contact us and talk to one of our experts on the subject.

Editorial

Features und Innovationen

Warehouse Performance: Durch die konsequente Nutzung von Daten versteckte Potenziale im Lager entdecken und nutzen! (Teil 1/4)

»Warehouse Performance«? Starten wir einfach einmal so: jedes Lager – ob groß oder klein, manuell oder automatisiert – erbringt "irgendeine" Leistung. Nun geht es an dieser Stelle nicht darum, die Leistung Ihres Lagers zu bewerten – vielmehr möchten wir Ihnen gerne die Möglichkeiten aufzeigen, um diese zu verbessern. So lautet die übergeordnete Frage: "Auf welche Art und Weise schaffe ich es, den Kommissioniervorgang so zu verändern, damit sich dieser messbar verbessert?" Aus unserer Sicht als WMS-Anbieter können wir hier natürlich nur über diejenigen Möglichkeiten sprechen, wo eine Lagerverwaltungssoftware unterstützen kann, um die Effizienz im Lager bestmöglich zu steigern!

Gerade in großen Lageranlagen mit mehreren Ebenen, Gassen, Stellplätzen und jeder Menge Artikel verschenken Unternehmen immer wieder viel zu viel Potenzial. Denn zugespitzt formuliert: Wer Auftrag für Auftrag willkürlich reserviert oder einzig und allein in der Reihenfolge der Auftragserfassung oder -priorität abläuft, verliert an Effizienz. So lautet die Devise: nicht schneller laufen, sondern effizienter lagern, planen und picken, für eine bestmögliche Leistung und Performance im Lager! Aber, was gilt es zu verbessern oder anders gesagt, wie fängt man am besten damit an? Unter dem Stichwort »Warehouse Performance« sind aus unserer Sicht grundsätzlich 3 mögliche Phasen zur Optimierung zu fassen:

  1. Optimierung der Bestandsreservierung
  2. Optimierung der Batch-Planung
  3. Anwendung der »Warehouse Healing«-Strategie

Das Ergebnis: verkürzte Lieferzeiten, eine erhöhte Kundenzufriedenheit und vor allem eine gesteigerte Effizienz im Lager.

Sie möchten mehr über die einzelnen Phasen zur Optimierung Ihrer Performance im Lager erfahren? Dann lesen Sie auch "Warehouse Performance: mit einer optimierten Bestandsreservierung neue Wege im Lager gehen! (Teil 2/4)"

Sie möchten schon jetzt mehr darüber erfahren? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne!

Samira Gryzia