optimal media

optimal media implements S&P's warehouse management software

Impressive numbers

A few figures illustrate the capacity of the new centre: 40,000 articles are stocked. Up to 10,000 orders with about 50,000 items can be processed per day. A maximum of 500,000 articles in 12,000 packages leave the centre every day. But it is not only these key figures that are impressive. Above all, it is also the dynamics and flexibility with which work is done here. The order throughput time, i.e. from receipt of the order to delivery of the goods, is only a few hours. And that's with order sizes that can range from one piece to several thousand data carriers.

A highly available warehouse management system (WMS) controls the entire logistics process. The WMS controls the complete flow of goods and the optimized warehouse and shipping processing. S&P uses its standardized warehouse management software SuPCIS-L8 (S&P Computer Information System, "L" stands for warehouse logistics). In its basic configuration, this system offers all essential functions for the administration and control of internal logistics tasks. Customer-specific extensions are set by means of configuration and plug-in modules. All modules are based on the same system concept and can be combined with each other. This modular expandability is one of the strengths of SuPCIS.


One system family

The core systems of this module-based software package are the warehouse inventory management with goods receipt, order picking and order processing, the transport control systems for stacker cranes, conveyor systems or AGVs, the material flow control systems including the management of orders and alternative destinations, the forklift control systems for forklift-operated warehouse systems with radio data transmission connection as well as the systems for the paperless handling of logistical processes for goods receipt, order picking, inventory and dispatch, also with radio data transmission connection.

It is therefore a complete system family for all internal logistical needs. It is irrelevant whether SuPCIS is used for small, medium or & as in this case & large projects. The software modules are always the same as a basis.


Anticipatory measures

A very special feature in optimal's distribution centre is the intelligent handling of orders in advance of order processing. The WMS receives the customer orders from the SAP ERP system. SAP and WMS are coupled with a standard interface certified by SAP. All distribution orders received by the WMS first go through a detailed pre-planning process before being processed in the picking process. Essential functions of this pre-planning are the calculation of the most favourable shipping method and route, if this has not already been specified by the ERP system, the integration into a strategic picking planning and the planning of the shipping processing. This planning is based on the volume and weight of an order, the resulting package types and the number of planned packages, and determines the appropriate shipping type and tour based on the delivery address and the planned delivery date.

In strategic picking planning, orders, stocks and capacities are scheduled in such a way that optimal warehouse performance can be expected. Order planning is designed to accommodate the dynamic nature of the system, as new orders can arrive at any time. Some key words to this planning are: "calculation of target picking times per order", "backward scheduling", "capacity planning" and "optimised utilisation".

Another result of this strategic planning is a forecast of the requirements in the individual picking areas. Based on the calculated demand situation, the required replenishment can then be planned in several waves over the course of a single day. In this way, the picking warehouses are essentially filled according to demand. In addition, if desired, minimum and replenishment quantities can be specified as parameters for each article. Suggestions for this can be determined from consumption statistics of the last few days.

Another essential part of order planning is the automatic packaging calculation. Here, again according to optimisation criteria, optimal packages are planned for the intended shipping method. Here it is particularly important that

  • as few and as full packages as possible,
  • the items are kept together and distributed over as few packages as possible,
  • If possible, container units should not be torn open,
  • a short throughput time is achieved for the individual package.

Of great importance: the supply depots

Depending on the quantity, the goods received and recorded from external sources and also from the company's own production are either stored on pallets in the pallet warehouse or in containers in the automatic small parts warehouse. The pallet warehouse is designed as a narrow-aisle warehouse, has a height of 12 metres and offers 5,000 storage locations. It is operated by industrial trucks whose operators are guided by mobile terminals from the WMS. The pallet warehouse serves as a replenishment warehouse for the picking areas or as a large-quantity reservoir.

In the miniload, the articles that are in so-called outer cartons are stored in containers with a base area of 400 x 600 mm. This warehouse with three aisles, each with a stacker crane, is also 12 metres high. It has a capacity of 18,000 totes, whereby for reasons of space utilisation, two totes are placed one behind the other in the shelf compartment. The miniload is used for automatic replenishment and picking of entire containers.

Multiple picking zones

The actual processing of the individual orders begins at the so-called order starting stations with the picking of complete packs from the miniload containers, which have been brought to the picking stations in front of the miniload by a conveyor system. Order picking is also carried out from pallets, which usually contain bestsellers. The order picker receives the picking instructions via WMS.

The next work step is picking the A and B articles. For this purpose, the totes are conveyed to flow racks equipped with pick-by-light displays (indicating the source). A special feature is that several orders can be placed on one tray. If "slow-moving" items, i.e. C and D items, also belong to an order, the totes have to be brought to the upper floor via conveyor sections and a vertical conveyor. Here, the desired goods are stored in shelving racks. In the total of four picking areas, picking is done in two stages for reasons of efficiency, with the help of pick-to-light displays.

Once picking is complete, the goods are conveyed to the packing area where they are packed. This is done either automatically or manually. Only goods to which a packaging box could be assigned in advance can be packed automatically. If a standard packing carton cannot be used due to the dimensions of the articles or if special treatments have to be carried out, manual processing is required at one of the 16 packing stations.

Since the WMS had already determined the dispatch service manager and the route to be used for sending the package during order planning, the correct label is now automatically printed and affixed in the packaging area.

Finally, the packages are conveyed to the shipping zone. Here they are buffered by conveyor technology and consolidated according to tour, customer or order. As soon as all packages belonging to an order have arrived in the buffer, they are automatically sorted out and made available. Finally, the numbers of the packages are scanned with mobile data capture devices to generate the shipping documents in this way. The goods are then ready for collection by the dispatch service manager. Should the latter wish to take over the data, it is made available to him via "Edifact".

Evaluations for the future

As already emphasised, it is so important, especially in this distribution centre, to know the expected replenishment needs, i.e. also to make short-term adjustments to the ABC criteria. For this you need statistics. An important component of the S&P WMS is therefore statistical information such as stock, order, picking, shipping and customer statistics. From these values, the system automatically determines and uses all data relevant for subsequent order planning.

Today, modern distribution centres & no matter how complex & are expected to be enormously fast and highly available. The international logistics and fulfilment centre in Röbel/Müritz with its state-of-the-art information technology meets these requirements. With it, optimal media production can fully live up to its role as a leading, independent service provider to the media industry and offer customers a comprehensive service in the field of production and distribution of data carriers.

About optimal media

Founded in 1990, optimal media production GmbH is a full-service provider for the production and distribution of data carriers. The company, a subsidiary of edel music AG, is based in Röbel/Müritz in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. Initially limited "only" to the production of music cassettes, CDs, long-playing records and later DVDs, optimal has also been operating an international logistics and fulfilment centre since 2001.

optimal media

optimal media implementiert die Lagerverwaltungssoftware von S&P

Eindrucksvolle Zahlen

Wenige Zahlen verdeutlichen das Leistungsvermögen des neuen Zentrums: 40.000 Artikel werden bevorratet. Bis zu 10.000 Aufträge mit etwa 50.000 Positionen können pro Tag bearbeitet werden. Maximal 500.000 Artikel in 12.000 Packstücken verlassen täglich das Haus. Doch nicht nur diese Kennzahlen sind beeindruckend. Es ist vor allem auch die Dynamik und Flexibilität, mit der hier gearbeitet wird. So beträgt die Auftragsdurchlaufzeit, also vom Auftragseingang bis zur Auslieferung der Ware, nur wenige Stunden. Und das bei Auftragsgrößen, die von einem Stück bis zu mehreren Tausend Datenträgern streuen können.

Die Steuerung des gesamten logistischen Ablaufs übernimmt ein hoch verfügbares Lagerverwaltungssystem (LVS). Das LVS steuert den kompletten Warenfluss und die optimierte Lager- und Versandabwicklung. S&P bedient sich dabei seines standardisierten Warehouse-Management-systems SuPCIS-L (S&P-Computer-Informations-System, „L” steht für Lagerlogistik). Dieses System bietet in seinem Grundausbau alle wesentlichen Funktionen zur Verwaltung und Steuerung innerbetrieblicher Logistikaufgaben. Kundenspezifische Erweiterungen werden mittels Konfiguration und Plug-In-Modulen eingestellt. Alle Module basieren auf dem gleichen Systemkonzept und sind miteinander kombinierbar. Diese modulare Erweiterbarkeit ist eine der Stärken von SuPCIS.


Eine Systemfamilie

Die Kernsysteme dieses bausteinbasierenden Softwarepakets sind die Lagerbestandsverwaltung mit Wareneingangs-, Kommissionier- und Auftragsbearbeitung, die Transportleitsysteme für Regalbediengeräte, Förderanlagen oder FTS, die Materialfluss-Steuerungssysteme einschließlich der Verwaltung von Aufträgen und Ausweichzielen, die Staplerleitsysteme für staplerbediente Lagersysteme mit Datenfunkanbindung sowie die Systeme für die beleglose Abwicklung der logistischen Abläufe bei Wareneingang, Kommissionierung Inventur und Versand, gleichfalls mit Datenfunkanbindung.

Es handelt sich also um eine komplette Systemfamilie für alle innerbetrieblichen logistischen Belange. Dabei ist es unerheblich, ob SuPCIS bei kleinen, mittleren oder & wie im vorliegenden Fall & großen Projekten zum Einsatz kommt. Die Software-Module sind als Basis immer dieselben.


Vorausschauende Maßnahmen

Ein ganz besonderes Merkmal im Distributionszentrum von optimal ist die intelligente Behandlung der Aufträge im Vorfeld der Auftragsbearbeitung. Das LVS erhält die Kundenaufträge vom SAP-ERP-System. SAP und LVS sind mit einer von SAP zertifizierten Standardschnittstelle gekoppelt. Alle am LVS eingehenden Distributionsaufträge durchlaufen zuerst eine detaillierte Vorplanung, bevor man im Rahmen der Kommissionierung aktiv wird. Wesentliche Funktionen dieser Vorplanung sind die Berechnung der günstigsten Versandart und Tour, sofern diese nicht schon vom ERP-System vorgegeben wurde, die Einbindung in eine strategische Kommissionierplanung und die Planung der Versandabwicklung. Diese Planung orientiert sich am Volumen und am Gewicht eines Auftrags, den daraus resultierenden Packstücktypen und der Anzahl der geplanten Packstücke und ermittelt anhand der Lieferadresse und des geplanten Lieferdatums die geeignete Versandart und die geeignete Tour.

Bei der strategischen Kommissionierplanung werden Aufträge, Bestände und Kapazitäten so eingeplant, dass eine optimale Lagerleistung zu erwarten ist. Die Auftragsplanung ist so ausgelegt, dass sie der Dynamik des Systems gerecht wird, denn jederzeit können neue Aufträge eintreffen. Einige Schlagworte zu dieser Planung sind: „Berechnung der Soll-Pickzeiten pro Auftrag”, „Rückwärtsterminierung”, „Kapazitätsplanung” und „optimierte Auslastung”.

Ein weiteres Ergebnis dieser strategischen Planung ist eine Vorausschau der Bedarfe in den einzelnen Kommissionierbereichen. Auf Grund der berechneten Bedarfssituation lässt sich dann in mehreren Wellen über den Einzeltag verteilt der benötigte Nachschub einplanen. Auf diese Weise werden die Kommissionierlager im Wesentlichen bedarfsorientiert befüllt. Darüber hinaus lassen sich aber auch, sofern gewünscht, pro Artikel Mindest- und Auffüllmengen als Parameter vorgeben. Vorschläge hierzu können aus einer Verbrauchstatistik der letzten Tage ermittelt werden.

Ein weiterer wesentlicher Teil der Auftragsplanung ist die automatische Packmittelberechnung. Hier werden, wieder nach Optimierungskriterien, für die vorgesehene Versandart optimale Packstücke geplant. Dabei ist vor allem wichtig, dass

  • möglichst wenig und möglichst volle Packstücke entstehen,
  • die Artikel zusammengehalten und auf möglichst wenige Packstücke verteilt werden,
  • Gebindeeinheiten möglichst nicht aufgerissen werden,
  • für das einzelne Packstück eine kurze Durchlaufzeit erreicht wird.

Von großer Bedeutung: die Nachschublager

Je nach Menge gelangt die von extern und auch aus der eigenen Produktion eingegangene und erfasste Ware entweder auf Paletten in das Palettenlager oder in Behältern in das automatische Kleinteilelager AKL. Das Palettenlager ist als Schmalganglager ausgeführt, hat die Höhe von 12 Metern und bietet 5.000 Lagerplätze. Bedient wird es von Flurförderzeugen, deren Bediener mit mobilen Terminals vom LVS aus geführt werden. Das Palettenlager dient als Nachschublager für die Kommissionierbereiche oder als Großmengenreservoir.

Im AKL sind die Artikel, die sich in so genannten Umkartons befinden, in Behältern mit der Grundfläche 400 x 600 mm untergebracht. Dieses Lager mit drei Gassen, in denen je ein Regalbediengerät arbeitet, ist ebenfalls 12 Meter hoch. Es hat ein Fassungsvermögen von 18.000 Behältern, wobei aus Raumnutzungsgründen jeweils zwei Behälter hintereinander im Regalfach stehen. Das AKL dient der automatischen Nachschubbereitstellung und der Kommissionierung von ganzen Gebinden.

Mehrere Kommissionierzonen

Die konkrete Abarbeitung der einzelnen Aufträge beginnt an den so genannten Auftragsstartplätzen mit der Kommissionierung von kompletten Gebinden aus den AKL-Behältern, die von einer Förderanlage zu den Kommissionierplätzen vor dem AKL gebracht wurden. Kommissioniert wird hier auch von bereitgestellten Paletten, auf denen zumeist Bestseller liegen. Die Entnahmeanweisungen bekommt der Kommissionierer via LVS.

Der nächste Arbeitsschritt ist das Kommissionieren der A- und B-Artikel. Dazu gelangen die Behälter per Fördertechnik zu Durchlaufregalen, die mit Pick-by-light-Anzeigen (Angabe der Quelle) ausgestattet sind. Eine Besonderheit ist, dass sich mehrere Aufträge auf einem Tray befinden können. Sollten auch noch „Langsamläufer”, also C- und D-Artikel zu einem Auftrag gehören, so müssen die Behälter über Förderstrecken und einen Vertikalförderer in das Obergeschoss gebracht werden. Hier lagert die gewünschte Ware in Fachbodenregalen. In den insgesamt vier Kommissionierbereichen wird aus Gründen der Effizienz zweistufig kommissioniert, und zwar mit Hilfe von Pick-to-light-Anzeigen.

Ist die Kommissionierung abgeschlossen, wird die Ware in den Verpackungsbereich gefördert und dort verpackt. Dies geschieht entweder automatisch oder von Hand. Automatisch lässt sich nur die Ware verpacken, denen im Vorfeld ein Verpackungskarton zugewiesen werden konnte. Ist nämlich ein Standard-Verpackungskarton auf Grund der Ausmaße der Artikel nicht einsetzbar oder müssen Sonderbehandlungen durchgeführt werden, so bedarf es einer manuellen Bearbeitung an einem der 16 Packplätze.

Da ja bereits im Zuge der Auftragsplanung durch das LVS festgelegt worden war, mit welchem Versanddienstleiter und auf welcher Route das Packstück zu verschicken ist, wird nun im Verpackungsbereich automatisch das richtige Etikett gedruckt und aufgeklebt.

Schließlich gelangen die Packstücke mittels Fördertechnik in die Versandzone. Hier werden sie fördertechnisch gepuffert und tour-, kunden- oder auftragsbezogen konsolidiert. Sobald alle Packstücke, die zu einem Auftrag gehören, im Puffer angekommen sind, werden sie automatisch aussortiert und bereitgestellt. Abschließend werden die Nummern der Packstücke mit mobilen Datenerfassungsgeräten gescannt, um auf diese Weise die Versandpapiere zu erzeugen. Damit ist die Ware für den Versanddienstleiter abholbereit. Sollte dieser die Daten übernehmen wollen, werden sie ihm über „Edifact” zur Verfügung gestellt.

Auswertungen für die Zukunft

Wie bereits betont, ist es gerade in diesem Distributionszentrum so wichtig, die voraussichtlichen Nachschub-Bedarfe zu kennen, also auch die kurzfristige Justierung der ABC-Kriterien vorzunehmen. Dazu braucht man Statistiken. Wichtiger Bestandteil des LVS von S&P sind deshalb Statistik-Informationen wie Bestands-, Auftrags-, Kommissionier-, Versand- und Kundenstatistik. Aus diesen Werten ermittelt und nutzt das System automatisch alle für die nachfolgenden Auftragsplanungen relevanten Daten.

Von modernen Distributionszentren & und seien sie noch so komplex & wird heute erwartet, dass sie enorm schnell und hoch verfügbar sind. Das internationale Logistik- und Fulfilment Center in Röbel/Müritz mit seiner neuesten Informationstechnik erfüllt diese Forderungen. Mit ihm kann optimal media production seiner Rolle als führender, unabhängiger Dienstleister der Medienindustrie voll und ganz gerecht werden und den Kunden einen umfassenden Service im Bereich der Herstellung und Distribution von Datenträgern bieten.

Über optimal media

Die 1990 gegründete optimal media production GmbH ist ein Vollservice-Dienstleister für die Produktion und Distribution von Datenträgern. Das Unternehmen, eine Tochtergesellschaft der edel music AG, hat seinen Sitz in Röbel/Müritz in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Beschränkte man sich anfänglich „nur” auf die Produktion von Musikkassetten, CDs, Langspielplatten und später auch auf DVDs, so betreibt optimal seit 2001 auch ein internationales Logistik- und Fulfilment Center.